un finishes electing icj justices

The ICJ in session

On 11 November 2014, the Republic of Argentina formally withdrew the candidacy of its candidate for the remaining spot on the ICJ, Ms. Susana Ruiz Cerutti. On 12 November 2014, the Secuity Council and General Assembly elected the remaining candidate, Mr. Patrick Lipton Robinson of Jamaica. The Court is now composed of:

  • Term ending 2018:
    • Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia)
    • Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan)
    • Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil)
    • Ronny Abraham (France)
    • Christopher John Greenwood (United Kingdom)
  • Term ending 2021:
    • Julia Sebutinde (Sierra Leone)
    • Hisashi Owada (Japan)
    • Xue Hanqin (China)
    • Peter Tomka (Slovakia)
    • Giorgio Gaja (Italy)
  • Term ending 2025:
    • Mohamed Bennouna (Morocco)
    • Joan E. Donoghue (United States of America)
    • James Richard Crawford (Australia)
    • Kirill Gevorgian (Russian Federation)
    • Patrick Lipton Robinson (Jamaica)